Things Found Whilst Searching For Other Things — #Genealogy #History #Obit #KingJanIIISobieski #Meme

by C. Michael Eliasz-Solomon

Stanczyk ‘s favorite meme is Things Found Whilst Searching For Other Things .

Today’s blog may be my greatest unexpected find. This day (26-Mar-2017), I found the obituary of King Jan III Sobieski (King of Poland & Lithuania – The Commonwealth).

I was searching Latin church book entries for:

« alias »,« seu »,« vel », « genantt »,« zwany »

But what I found instead  in 1696 in Świniary parish book astounded me. It was by far the longest latin entry I ever found in parish books… then I looked at the top of the page, “Obitu Joannis III Regis Polonii 1696″ !  My latin being somewhat limited, I scanned the obituary of Jan III King of Poland until I could pull the obligatory genealogical data from the 3-4th lines from the bottom: “30 June 1696” [sic actual death date, 17-June-1696].

If my research/understanding is correct, the obituary was written by Jan de Małachowice (Małachowski), the Bishop of Kraków.

 
Post Scriptum:

The Funeral of Jan III Sobieski, King of Poland …

The Funeral of King Jan III

 

Other Blog Post on Jan III Sobieski:

  1. https://mikeeliasz.wordpress.com/2013/04/02/jan-iii-sobieski-things-i-find-whilst-looking-up-other-things/
  2. https://mikeeliasz.wordpress.com/2012/07/23/in-prose-the-good-wife-love-literaturelost-womanofvalor/
2 Comments to “Things Found Whilst Searching For Other Things — #Genealogy #History #Obit #KingJanIIISobieski #Meme”

  1. Very cool! Do I understand correctly that it’s possible to do keyword searches within these images from GenBaza? How did you manage to trip over this while searching as you describe?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Julie … Hi! It was pure serendipity. I searched Genbaza for latin records (pre 1800). I started on the last page of: Świniary of AD-Kielce for 1686-1698. I think it was my 3rd or 4th page. I was just scanning sequentially.

      I was doing Biechów and Świniary because I have family from these parishes and I understand the local geography and family names and because these parishes have old records (unlike my grandfather’s parish, Pacanów).

      Liked by 1 person

Tell Me Your Thoughts ...

