Anna Slavinska, from Sulislawice

by C. Michael Eliasz-Solomon

Stanczyk got another genealogical question. It was from Cris (on Ancestry.com).

Cris wrote …

SlawinskiQuestion

 

 

Cris, welcome to my blog. I have good news so please keep reading. As you no doubt know, I have SLAWINSKI in my own family tree. Most likely you will find your name in Polish Archive / Church records written as SŁAWIŃSKI in Polish and as СЛАВИНСКИЙЬ in Russian records.

From mapa.szukacz.pl I have a map of your ancestral village (Sulislawice, 50,587500   21,468333  – see pink circle).

Sulisławice
population 353 people (osoby)
woj.        świętokrzyskie
pow.       Sandomierski
gmina   Łoniów

 

Sulislawice_near_Sandomierz_map

Since your ancestral village is near to Sandomierz, I knew it would be in Kielce AP (state archive of Poland) and in particular its office in Sandomierz AP.  This Kielce / Sandomierz area is where the overwhelming majority of my Polish ancestors come from. As a result, I knew to check Metryki.GenBaza.pl to see if your grandmother Anna Slawinska might have her records online. The good news is yes, those records are online in GenBaza. It has Sulislawice (which is also the parish) in the years:  1810-1910 [inclusive].

You will need to be able to read Polish for records 1810-1868 (possibly Latin before 1820). For records in the years 1869-1910, they will be written in Russian/Cyrillic characters.

You will also need to register for userid / password on Metryki.GenBaza.pl (which takes you to GenPol.pl) and do so in Polish to gain access to that database of church record images.  This is doable, but not a trivial task. Once you get an email with your userid/password, contact me again and I will post the link to my blog where I wrote a user guide to using the website.

But it is the holiday season and your Slawinski may be relatives of my Slawinski. So this jester is willing to find your grandmother’s birth record (if she was in fact born in Sulislawice). To do so, please  contact me in Ancestry again with:

  1. Your grandmother’s birth date (the year must be in the range 1810 … 1910)
  2. Your grandmother’s parents names (great-grandparents).

I will use that info to search for and send you the birth record if I find it. I will also provide a translation of the key genealogical facts (dates, names, ages, etc.) from what I am expecting will be a Russian language record.

 

Happy Holidays !


StefanSlawinski_sonOfStanislawSlawinski_MariannaJarokow

1886 – Akt (Record) #47 – Stefan Slawinski son of Stanislaw Slawinski & Marianna Jarok in Gieraszowice

 

Tell Me Your Thoughts ...

