INS/USCIS & NARA – How To Do Research — #Genealogy #Immigration

by C. Michael Eliasz-Solomon

1934_LeonP_RemovalLast week Stanczyk took part in  a webinar:  An Overview of Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) Records at the National Archives — by Zach Wilske.

It was an excellent webinar. It was my first genealogy webinar! The AT&T Connect that the NARA used for the webinar worked extremely well. I used the iPhone app (as opposed to the laptop software). The iPhone app work well. I heard the presenter over the phone and was able to see the slides simultaneously on the phone.  Very nice choice by the NARA/USCIS and executed well by Zach Wilske.

This jester had a goal to figure out how to research a fact from a number located on Ancestry for Leon Pieszczochowicz. I found Leon in Ancestry’s:  Subject Index to Correspondence and Case Files of the Immigration and Naturalization Service, 1903-1952

I had found a number(s)/code :  55,874-84

Mr Wilske did a thorough job explaining the topic and out popped my answer without my even having to text a question to the presenter. I needed to go to  NARA in Washington D.C.

I also learned that you need three pieces of info: RG (Record Group),  Entry#, & File# . So what did I have and how do I research it?

 

Ah, I have a File#. What do I do with it?

This jester will be looking up (on a reference service slip, as shown above):
Leon Pieszczochowicz
RG#     85
Entry# 9
File#    55,874-84

As per Mr. Wilske, I sent an email to: cishistory.library@uscis.dhs.gov

to confirm the file is still extant.

Tell Me Your Thoughts ...

