Archive for May 11th, 2014

May 11, 2014

♥ Happy Mothers Day ♥ — #Genealogy, #German, #Croatia, #Romanian, #Jewish

by C. Michael Eliasz-Solomon

  Happy Mother’s Day 2014   – First, Stanczyk wishes to thank my wife on Mother’s Day and then to wish all mothers a day of  joy.

I love my wife, Teréza, and one of my goals for my recent research trip  was to find her paternal grandparent’s ancestral villages. I have some clues from American records, but Jewish records are hard to locate. But I was able to locate a census  of the Austrian Hungarian Empire for the Maramaros region and the village of Kovesliget in particular which is very near to the present day border of Ukraine (by Khust) and inside Romania. The only record I found for that locale was from 1828 census, so I cannot prove that Misek Volfe (Jewish) is a direct line ancestor of her paternal grandmother, Bessie Wolf. But it does confirm for me that I have the correct locale from the US records.

 

For my own mother, Rosemary, I was able to locate her Vespeks in Sarvas (Osijek-Baranja county of modern day, Eastern Croatia).  This corresponds to the LDS microfilm: FHL INTL Film # 1739003 Items 1-3. I first had an inkling from my maternal grandfather, Jozef Vespek’s naturalization papers.  I also had seen some records that FamilySearch had posted on-line and so I had more than an inkling that I would find Vespeks in the LDS microfilm. I also found Reiter, which had been in the ship manifest for my mom’s half brothers (Jozef & Vendelin when they came from their uncle Rajter).

Genealogy is all about your family … those people in your tree and Mother’s Day is another fine day to honor those named therein, particularly the mothers.

mday

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 454 other followers

