Ancestry Adds Diacriticals to Their GEDCOM Exports — #Genealogy, #Polish, #Diacriticals, #GEDCOM

by C. Michael Eliasz-Solomon

AncestryFixed

Left – Ancestry fixed (diacriticals) • Right – Data missing diacriticals before fix

Ancestry.com ,  you must forgive Stanczyk. With the cacophony of the Terroristic Bombing at the Boston Marathon, The Fertilizer Explosion in West, TX, Chinese Earthquake and so many big news stories that kept my attention, I had neglected to read your email.

This week Ancestry fixed at least two of my bugs. I cannot test the other bug. Let me back up a bit. Long time readers may remember my blog article, “Thinking About @Ancestrydotcom ‘s GEDCOM” from (1st-March-2013). In that article, I asked Ancestry.com to fix three things:

  1. CHAR tag in their GEDCOM export
  2. Support diacriticals ex.:    ą ć ę ł ń ó ś ź ż   (in proper Polish nouns)
  3. Phantom Notes ???

I am here to publicly THANK YOU, Ancestry.com  for taking my tweets at (Twitter: @Ancestrydotcom ) and fixing these problems. I assume #3 was fixed too, but I have no way to test your fix (as I had deleted the offending comments in March). But I am here to tell the INTERNET that Ancestry.com took my tweets and opened a ticket and fixed the bugs!

Now my diacriticals which I entered into my Ancestry.com family tree were exported from Ancestry.com website, downloaded to my laptop, where I examined the GEDCOM file in gVIM (I am still a techy at heart) and saw the new CHAR tag in the GEDCOM file!

I then imported the GEDCOM into RootsMagic (which I knew supported diacriticals) and voila there was my data all proper in RootsMagic!

AncestryFixed_UTF8Ancestry used a value of UTF-8 for the CHAR tag. This allowed me to keep my diacriticals on the export. So now my Family Tree in Ancestry and my Family Tree in RootsMagic can have identical data. I no longer lose my valuable work from Ancestry (or have to re-enter the data on my laptop).

So I hope  my readers follow my example and Tweet at Ancestry. You too can help improve their software, when you find bugs and request bug fixes. I hope my fixes help other genealogists (like the many Polish genealogists who read this blog). NOW we have diacriticals. See they are a kindly 800 lb. (362.87 kg) Gorilla of the genealogy world. That is why I am a subscriber — they value me as a customer.

THANKS AGAIN, Ancestry!

–Stanczyk

4/22/2013

Tell Me Your Thoughts ...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 439 other followers

